What is this?

 

I ‘m always thinking about everything I absorb every day.  Mostly from a cultural standpoint, but also from a more real-world point of view…all those years reading The Economist and Vanity Fair and now Real Clear Politics have defined my political and social conscience.

I write every single day when the “jobs that pay the bills,” to quote The Devil Wears Prada, don’t take up more than 10 hours of my waking life.  But my creative life has become increasingly dominated by long-form fiction and non-fiction; indeed, I’ve unexpectedly made a name for myself in the graphic narrative field, which is beautifully challenging, exciting, and pushes me to the limit.  What I truly feel about life gets expressed in my graphic narrative work, but even the longest text doesn’t have the space or the need to accommodate everything.

But…writing down what I think, in its detail and subtlety, helps me keep it all in line, sparks the creativity further.

Andrew Rostan’s Occasional Pieces was no longer fun to write; my work was growing increasingly TOO detailed and unwieldy, more academic essay-style, and I didn’t want that.  I found a new form of reaching out to the world on twitter, which is much more conversational, but the 140-character limit…it limits things!  And tweetalogues can get annoying.

Back in my L.A. days, I had a blog in which I wrote for fifteen minutes a day on something which struck me. That’s the length of time it takes for me to produce a couple hundred words you can digest during a lunch or coffee break, flip through before bedtime.  And now, on every writing day, this new project will be part of my production.

So welcome to The Thoughts Between.

 

What will be on there?

 

My thoughts!  Whatever makes the strongest impression on me during the day.  I may write about literature, film, and music as I did in the past, or about politics, or just ramble on with some philosophical observations.  I may share the secrets of writing the graphic novel…what little I know.

 

Is this blog, Andrew Rostan’s Occasional Pieces, going away?

 

No! I’m going to maintain this specifically for when I get the urge to write a long-form piece, and for some new pieces I have in mind that are truly occasions: collaborations with others and the like.

 

Who inspired the new blog?

 

A-J Aronstein

Lindsey Bahr

Stephen Christy

Travis J. Cook

Kate Kasenow

Jill Pantozzi

Amy Ratcliffe

Rebecca Taylor

Elise Whitaker

These people inspire me to keep writing, to try my hand in as many different forms as possible, to speak my mind and heart and stand up for my convictions, and to have fun in the process.

 

And we get that you want a new name and a new website to reflect this new, very different approach from your last three years in the blogosphere.  But where did the title come from?

 

Two sources.  First, The Thoughts Between are just those, thoughts which aren’t as long as an essay or chapter, but much longer than a tweet.  They take up the best in-between space there is.

 

Second, from the song “Days Between” by one of my idols, Robert Hunter, a song which expresses so much about what I wish to accomplish in my life.

 

There were days
and there were days
and there were days between
Summer flies and August dies
the world grows dark and mean
Comes the shimmer of the moon
on black infested trees
the singing man is at his song
the holy on their knees
the reckless are out wrecking
the timid plead their pleas
No one knows much more of this
than anyone can see, anyone can see

There were days
and there were days
and there were days besides
when phantom ships with phantom sails
set to sea on phantom tides
Comes the lightning of the sun
on bright unfocused eyes
the blue of yet another day
a springtime wet with sighs
a hopeful candle lingers
in the land of lullabies
where headless horsemen vanish
with wild and lonely cries, lonely cries

There were days
and there were days
and there were days I know
when all we ever wanted
was to learn and love and grow
Once we grew into our shoes
we told them where to go
walked halfway around the world
on promise of the glow
stood upon a mountain top
walked barefoot in the snow
gave the best we had to give
how much we’ll never know, we’ll never know

There were days
and there were days
and there were days between
polished like a golden bowl
the finest ever seen
Hearts of Summer held in trust
still tender, young and green
left on shelves collecting dust
not knowing what they mean
valentines of flesh and blood
as soft as velveteen
hoping love would not forsake
the days that lie between, lie between

